Health and Social Care

IPS support learners at intermediate, advanced and higher levels who work in a range of care environments including hospitals and care homes…

Health and Social Care

IPS support learners at intermediate, advanced and higher levels who work in a range of care environments including hospitals and care homes…

Health and Social Care apprenticeships with IPS will help you gain the qualifications to take you into a variety of highly rewarding health-related professions including care work and nursing.

Our qualifications cover a wide range of learning options relating to the skills the learner is looking to gain. Subjects include:

• Safeguarding and protection
• Health and safety
• Handling information
• Understanding mental wellbeing and mental health
• Dementia Awareness
• Principles of Infection Prevention and Control
• Working with individuals with learning disabilities
• Working with individuals with physical disabilities

We offer the following qualifications in Health and Social Care:

Health and Social Care

Level 2 Standard – Adult Care Worker

Adult Care Workers need to have the right values and behaviours to demonstrate competencies and skills to provide high-quality, compassionate care and support. They are frontline staff who help adults with care and support needs to achieve their personal goals and live as independently and safely as possible, enabling them to have the control and choice in their lives which is at the heart of person-centred care. Job roles are varied, determined by and relevant to the type of service being provided and the person supported. Our Level 2 Apprentice can train for a variety of roles in residential or nursing homes, domiciliary care, day centres and some clinical healthcare settings.

View more details on the Level 2 Adult Care Worker


Level 3 Standard – Lead Adult Care Worker

Lead Adult Care Workers are tasked with the challenge of making a positive difference in someone’s life when they are faced with physical, practical, social, emotional or intellectual challenges. They are expected to exercise judgment and take appropriate action to support individuals to maintain their independence, dignity, and control. By providing leadership, guidance, and direction at the front line of care delivery, the lead care worker is instrumental in improving the health and well-being of those receiving care and support. Lead Adult Care Workers will in some circumstances have delegated responsibility for the standard of care provided and may supervise the work of other care workers.

View more details on the Level 3 Lead Adult Care Worker


Level 2 Standard – Healthcare Support Worker

The primary role of a Level 2 Healthcare Support Worker is providing high-quality and compassionate health and social care for a wide range of people. Healthcare support workers (HCSWs) work as part of a team providing high quality and compassionate care to individuals, carrying out well-defined routine clinical duties like monitoring an individual’s conditions (by checking things like blood pressure, temperature or weight), checking on their overall progress, comfort and wellbeing. They prepare individuals for healthcare activities carried out by other members of the healthcare team, looking after them before, during and after those activities in line with their care plan. They also carry out non-clinical duties and, depending on where they work; this could include things like keeping records, making beds, tidying up your work area, returning or cleaning the equipment used during a clinical activity.

View more details on the Level 2 Healthcare Support Worker


Level 3 Standard – Senior Healthcare Support Worker

The primary role of a Level 3 Senior Healthcare Support Worker is to help registered practitioners deliver healthcare services to people. Providing high-quality and compassionate specialist health and social care for a range of people. As an experienced support worker, they carry out a variety of clinical and non-clinical healthcare or therapeutic tasks, under the direct or indirect supervision of the registered healthcare practitioner, providing high quality, compassionate healthcare, following standards, policies or protocols and always acting within the limits of their competence. May work in a range of services, e.g. hospital, community, health or day case unit, birth centre or midwifery-led unit, someone’s home, operating theatre, nursing or care home, assessment centre, hospice, school, prison, GP surgery, charity or voluntary organisation; working in partnership with individuals, families, carers and other service providers.

View more details on the Level 3 Healthcare Support Worker



The higher apprenticeship provides the skills and knowledge needed to manage and lead others in a health and social care setting. This course covers aspects such as safeguarding and protection, managing care services, as well as developing best practice and policy. Entrants to the higher apprenticeship will likely be an employer and have some responsibility for the management of the workplace.

Functional Skills

Functional Skills are needed for success in a range of activities, whether in education, training, work or life in general.

If you do not possess a relevant GSCE in subjects like; English, Mathematics and some cases IT then you will need to complete Functional Skills. All the training will take place within the programme, and your mentor/assessor will provide full support.

The primary functional skills units that relate to a Care Qualification are:

  • English
  • Mathematics

These units will require an external assessment test and must be completed along with the Diploma


All applicants must have or be working towards a Care Certificate.

Most applicants will have completed compulsory education. Previous experience and qualifications in Health and Social Care are not required for a Level 2 Apprenticeship.

End – Point Assessment

Requirements of the new Standards means there will be an end-point assessment for the final stage of the apprenticeship.

IPS will provide support from the beginning of the apprenticeship to the end-point assessment. Each component of end-point assessment is graded. Apprentices will also receive a grade for the overall end-point assessment. This will be Pass/Merit/Distinction. Apprentices will be assessed on their knowledge, skills, and behaviour; key behaviours will be summed up by the “Six Cs.”

  • Care – is caring consistently and enough about individuals to make a positive difference to their lives.
  • Compassion – is delivering care and support with kindness, consideration, dignity, and respect.
  • Courage – is doing the right thing for people and speaking up if the individual they support is at risk.
  • Communication – good communication is central to successful, caring relationships and effective team working.
  • Competence – is applying knowledge and skills to provide high-quality care and support.
  • Commitment – to improving the experience of people who need care and support ensuring it is person-centred.

Get in touch..

Request a call

1 + 15 =

More information

If you would like more information or would like to send us a message, our contact page lists all the various ways to get in contact.